New Travel Permit Requirement for Europe Travel Starting in 2024

New Travel Permit Requirement for Europe Travel Starting in 2024

European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS)

In the upcoming years, individuals intending to visit European countries such as France, Spain, Italy, and Portugal will need to acquire a new travel permit. This requirement stems from the changes brought about by Brexit and aims to address uncertainties associated with European Travel.

Introducing the European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS)

The ETIAS is a short-stay visa designed to allow people to travel to any member of the Schengen Area for up to 90 days, whether for tourism or business purposes.

Purpose of the ETIAS

The implementation of ETIAS aims to enhance security at EU borders. Each applicant will undergo a comprehensive security check by the ETIAS to determine their eligibility to enter any Schengen Zone country. This process ensures that only individuals who do not pose a security threat are granted entry into the EU.

Regulations and Requirements

The European Union (EU) has released a detailed guide clarifying the regulations associated with this new permit.

Who Needs an ETIAS?

All travelers from visa-exempt countries, who currently do not require visas to enter the Schengen Zone, will need to obtain an ETIAS before their arrival in Europe. This requirement applies to the UK, the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and more.

ETIAS Duration and Travel Flexibility

With the ETIAS, foreign travelers can spend a maximum of 90 days within a 180-day period traveling throughout Europe. The ETIAS remains valid for three years, allowing multiple trips to Europe during this duration.

See also  ipNX Nigeria Limited Latest Job Vacancies

Cost of ETIAS

The ETIAS is priced at approximately €7/£6 for individuals aged 18 and above. However, minors and applicants over 70 are eligible to obtain it free of charge.

How to Apply for an ETIAS

The application process for ETIAS permits will be conducted entirely online and can be completed within minutes. To apply, you will be required to provide personal information, travel details, and payment information.

The ETIAS application website is expected to be launched in late 2023. For more information about ETIAS and the application process, please visit the European Commission website.

Reasons for ETIAS Denial

There are several reasons why an ETIAS application may be denied, including:

  • Having a criminal background
  • Possessing a potential danger to society
  • Being on a travel watchlist related to suspected terrorists
  • Providing fraudulent information during the application
  • Traveling from an area affected by an epidemic/pandemic outbreak


The ETIAS is a new travel permit that will be mandatory for visa-exempt travelers entering countries within the Schengen Area from 2024 onwards. It serves as a means to enhance security at EU borders, and the application process is relatively straightforward and affordable.

European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS)

New Travel Permit Requirement for Europe Travel Starting in 2024

You May Also Like